PAXsims

Conflict simulation, peacebuilding, and development

PAXsims at ISCRAM 2015

ISCRAM 2015 logo

I have just arrived here in picturesque Kristiansand Norway, to attend the annual Conference on Information Systems for Crisis Response and Management (ISCRAM). At the moment the weather is very. ahem, ‘Norwegian Seaside’ (read 50 degrees F, with cool rain blowing in off the ocean, and dense fog), but I’m excited to here. As Rex noted earlier, the association has added a new Serious Gaming track to the conference this year, and I will be delivering a paper on a training simulation ICONS developed in conjunction with some crisis communication experts and the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) for the US Department of Homeland Security. I am also very much looking forward to many of the panels in the Analytical Modeling and Simulation track.

I plan to post at least once this week with updates and worthy information for the community of interest. Check out the Conference Proceedings and comment on this post or drop me an email if there’s a paper you would really like live reporting on, or an author I should approach for more information.

From ‘The Norwegian Riviera’
Devin

3 responses to “PAXsims at ISCRAM 2015

  1. nicklalone 24/05/2015 at 10:34 am

    Am also here at ISCRAM though I am not presenting any work on sims this year. I wish I had had the time to pursue the poster I presented last year.

    If you get a chance, Anja van der Hulst is wandering around. She presented some fantastic work last year and no doubt has some great insights on it this year. Unsure if she is presenting as I didn’t see her name in the program, just some back channel admin stuff.

  2. devin ellis 24/05/2015 at 11:11 am

    Nick, lets try and run into each other then, it would be a pleasure to meet you. I do think Anja is presenting something in the serious gaming track, with some coauthors.

  3. nicklalone 25/05/2015 at 8:59 am

    So I saw after I made that comment! Will you be at the fortress tonight? my.name@gmail if you’d like to take this off to email.

Leave a Reply

