Conflict simulation, peacebuilding, and development

Daily Archives: 04/08/2013

CSR 2012 winners

CSRLogo1The winners of the 2012 Charles S. Roberts wargame awards have now been posted on the CSR website:

  • Best Ancient to Napoleonic Era Board Wargame
  • Best Post-Napoleonic to Pre-World War 2 Era Board Wargame
  • Best World War 2 Era Board Wargame
  • Best Post-WW2 Era Board Wargame
  • Best Pre-20th Century Era Computer Wargame
  • Best 20th Century Era – Modern Computer Wargame
    • Battle of the Bulge, Shenandoah Studios
  • Best Science-Fiction or Fantasy Board Wargame
  • Best Science-Fiction or Fantasy Computer Wargame
    • X-Com: Enemy Unknown, Firaxis 2K Games
  • Best Magazine Game
  • Best Desktop Published (DTP) / Print-and-Play / Postcard Game
    • City of Confusion: The Battle for Hue, Tet 1968 (by Paul Rohrbaugh), High Flying Dice Games
  • Best Expansion or Supplement for an Existing Game
  • Best Board Game Graphics
  • Best Computer Game Graphics
    • Battle of the Bulge, Shenandoah Studios
  • Best Professional Game Magazine
  • Best Amateur Game Magazine
    • 1914 Dispatches, Oregon Consim Gamers
  • Best Historical/Scenario Article
    • 1914 – A postwar Solution for Austria-Hungary’s Mobilization (Michael Resch C3i nr 26)
  • Best Game Review or Analysis Article
    • For the People – Defending the Union (by Dave Dockter and Mark Herman)C3i Magazine
  • James F. Dunnigan Design Elegance Award
    • Dean Essig
  • Clausewitz Award HALL OF FAME
    • Brian Youse

PAXsims offers particular congratulations to Volko Ruhnke for having won in the “Best Post-WW2 Era Board Wargame” category with Andean Abyss (recently reviewed at PAXsims here). Volko won in 2010 in the same category with Labyrinth (which we reviewed here).

My gaming group will also be pleased that Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game won the the science fiction category…


%d bloggers like this: